home
shop
artists
news
gigs
info
The Chevin
A Close Chevin
posted on 22nd September 2011
Share: Artist Profile
The Band: THE CHEVIN

The Release: THE 'CHAMPION' EP

The Format: COMPACT DISC & DOWNLOAD

The Label: fierce panda

The Release Date: OCTOBER 31ST 2011

The Catalogue Number: NING 239CD

The Tracklisting: 1 'Champion'. 2 'When The Party's Over'. 3 'Blue Eyes'. 4 'Menwith Hill'. 5 'Songs For The Sun'. 6 *Bonus Track* 'Champion' (Miadis Remix).

The Truth: THE CHEVIN are four young men from Otley, West Yorkshire. They consist of Coyle Girelli (vocals), Mat Steel (guitar), Jon Langford (bass) and Mal Taylor (drums). THE CHEVIN is pronounced The Shev-In'. Fans of the West Yorkshire tourist board are already sure to know that The Chevin is also name of the hill which surrounds the bands hometown.

And home is very much where the heart is for THE CHEVIN: Coyle, Steel and Langford started playing music together while attending Prince Henry's Grammar School in Otley and bands line-up was ultimately completed when they later enlisted the services of Taylor, another old school friend. And now they are called THE CHEVIN. And they are about to shake the alt.rock world to its floundering foundations.

The 'Champion' EP is THE CHEVINs first ever release. It features a song called 'Champion' which is insanely epic, manically widescreen, heroically uplifting and destined to soundtrack Goal Of The Month montages, X Factor breakdowns and all manner of valedictory celebrations for years to come. You can feel the popforce at http://vimeo.com/28623837 right now. And this, my friends, is just the start. Come share THE CHEVIN love at their first UK live shows here, here and there¬Ά
Thu Sep 29 ‚ OTLEY Korks
Sat Oct 1 ‚ SOUTHAMPTON Unit
Mon Oct 3 ‚ BRIGHTON The Hope
Tue Oct 4 ‚ YORK The Duchess
Wed Oct 5 ‚ NORTHAMPTON Roadmenders
Thu Oct 6 ‚ LONDON Kentish Town Bull & Gate - October Residency
Sat Oct 8 ‚ IPSWICH Kai Bar
Thu Oct 13 ‚ LONDON Kentish Town Bull & Gate - October Residency
Fri Oct 14 ‚ LEEDS Cockpit
Sat Oct 15 ‚ GLASGOW King Tuts
Sun Oct 16 ‚ ABERDEEN Caf?Ι¬© Drummond
Tue Oct 18 ‚ NEWCASTLE University
Thu Oct 20 ‚ LONDON Kentish Town Bull & Gate ‚ October Residency
Fri Oct 21 ‚ TRURO B Sided At Bunters
Mon Oct 24 ‚ BIRMINGHAM Academy 3
Wed Oct 26 ‚ STOKE Sugarmill
Thu Oct 27 ‚ LONDON Kentish Town Bull & Gate - October Residency
Fri Oct 28 ‚ SHEFFIELD Bowery
Sat Oct 29 ‚ COLCHESTER The Soundhouse (The Bull)
Sun Oct 30 ‚ LIVERPOOL Academy

www.the-chevin.com

Longfellow Oh My Rampant Puddings It's...pandamonium '15!!!
posted on 11.Dec.2014
More
Fierce Panda Ningle Bells Album Ahoy!!!
posted on 02.Dec.2014
More
The Crookes It's Crooooooookesmas!!!
posted on 01.Dec.2014
More
Dalton Dalton Shares 'only Names' With In Stereo Records
posted on 01.Dec.2014
More
Desperate Journalist Desperate Journalist Panic On!
posted on 18.Nov.2014
More
Longfellow Longfellow Call The Doctor!
posted on 11.Nov.2014
More
Longfellow 'the Panda Is Still 'endangered'!
posted on 03.Nov.2014
More
The Crookes Howl For The Crookes!
posted on 03.Oct.2014
More
Terror Pigeon Terror Pigeon Take Flight!
posted on 30.Sep.2014
More
Longfellow Longfellow Hit London & Nyc!
posted on 29.Sep.2014
More
Newer Older
1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8 / 9 / 10 / 11 / 12 / 13 / 14 / 15 / 16 / 17 / 18 / 19 / 20 / 21 / 22 / 23 / 24 / 25 / 26 / 27 / 28 / 29 / 30 / 31 / 32 / 33 / 34 / 35 / 36 / 37 / 38 / 39 / 40 / 41 /
Oh My Rampant Puddings It's...pandamonium '15!!! »
Ningle Bells Album Ahoy!!! »
It's Crooooooookesmas!!! »
Dalton Shares 'only Names' With In Stereo Records »
Desperate Journalist Panic On! »
Longfellow Call The Doctor! »
'the Panda Is Still 'endangered'! »
Howl For The Crookes! »
Terror Pigeon Take Flight! »
Longfellow Hit London & Nyc! »
ning standard xmas edition » (Dec 2014)
ning standard #60 » (Dec 2014)
ning standard #58 » (Nov 2014)
Sign up here + full archive »
Desperate Journalist
Thursday 22 Jan
Desperate Journalist
@ Lexington, London
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart
Monday 16 Feb
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart
@ Village Underground, London
Longfellow
Thursday 26 Feb
Longfellow
@ Borderline, London